Time flies…

Even when you’re not having fun. And there hasn’t been much fun around here. Many of you know I’ve been sick. And because in an asthmatic a cold can’t be “just a cold” I got knocked down pretty good. Luckily I work with some fabulous people who know I’m sick before I do. So after going to the doctor and getting 1 med for the nebulizer, 2 different inhalers, an antibiotic, steroid, Singulair and Zyrtec, I’m back on the road again.

And I broke 1,000 miles! Apparently I broke it the ride before last but have been so caught up in life that I forgot to check. When I checked today (and took away today’s ride) it became clear I broke it Sunday. Go me! That’s 1,000 miles since the end of May, and while it’s not a world record, it’s still quite an accomplishment for me!

I’ve also started the %$!@ Couch to 5K. It sucks, but that’s probably because I HATE to run. Hate. HATE! But I’ve decided to suck it up and give it a try so I can change things up a bit. I’ve only done it twice so far and the second was better than the first (especially once I take all those inhalers!). I doubt I’ll run any marathons any time soon- and no, I’m not doing any triathlons.  

I did sign up for the Tour de Jefferson though! I plan on doing the 35 miles, which I know I can do- not fast- but doable. So if you have nothing to do on 10/20 at 7:30am, come on out and cheer on the boy and I as we make our way from Bayou Segnette to Lafitte. We (I) need all the moral support we can get (and probably a side of beef and 5 pound sack of potatoes when I’m done!). 

Speaking of beef…I’m hungry. All. The. Time. It has been a horrendous week- I have eaten everything that has crossed my path- good, bad, and even ugly. I’m not sure why- I’ve taken steroids before and not had this happen, but the hunger has been insatiable. And nothing is off limits. All I could think was how much weight I was going to gain this week and how much I would need to exercise to prevent any gain. I would have been happy to maintain. Funny thing though, I LOST 8 pounds- and I don’t feel good about it. I don’t know what went wrong. Any of you diet gurus are welcome to weigh-in (pun not intended) on this little phenomenon because I don’t understand. I have been off the steroids for 3 days now and am still hungry constantly. It’s not boredom that’s for sure because I have had plenty to do. Thoughts? Anyone?

So here we are- by the numbers:

Miles ridden: 1017.6

Miles run: about 2 (told you, I ain’t running no marathons!)

Shirt size: Large or MEDIUM (!) 

Pant size: same (yeah- why pant sizes won’t follow the shirt size trend I have no idea. More proof I have a very large derriere)

Weight: 198 (it only took 8 weeks of 202, 208, 196, 204, 206, 201, 200.5 to break that dang number)

No spinach- currently on a field greens kick (and have consumed about 5 pounds in a week)

Favorite snack: whatever is handy lately, goes back to that whole hungry like a hostage thing. Hopefully it passes soon! 

Sorry- nothing exciting. But stay tuned, life is about to get way more interesting in the coming weeks! 

Life is GOOD!

2 thoughts on “Time flies…

  1. Jen says:

    Steroids can take awhile to get out of your system…

    You’re doing awesome!

Leave a Reply

